lifestyle · toptips

5 Favourite Christmas Crafts

I know, I know… It’s not December yet, so if you’re someone who won’t even utter the ‘C’ word until December 1st, then bookmark this post to come back to!

I love Christmas. For me Christmas is not just a time to be with family and friends and eat and drink too much, but as a Christian it’s a time to reflect and celebrate the birth of my Saviour.

However, this to one side, as this post is to share with you one of my favourite things to do in the run up to Christmas, which is to get my creative juices flowing and to attempt a variety of seasonal crafts! I say *attempt* because usually I see some incredible Pinterest post which I believe I could replicate so easily, like a pen gliding to paper, something worthy of selling, but in reality the final product looks like something my (future) dog might chew up and spit out. Fab.

Nonetheless, Christmas is the the time for miracles and so with that in mind, I present to you my top 5 favourite Christmas crafts (mainly sourced from Pinterest).

1. Chocolate Sleigh

choc-sleigh

Pin can be found here from the WHOot

Tutorial on how to make one can be found here

I love these little handmade chocolate sleighs. They are so cute and are suitable for all ages! They look very easy to make and are perfect additions to any presents. I think I’m going to make some of these for my work colleagues! The best thing about these, besides being edible, is that the contents can differ depending on who the recipient is.

2. Personalised Snowman Mugs

snowman-mugs

Pin can be found here

Tutorial on how to bake the mugs can be found here

These mugs are so simple yet so effective! I absolutely love personalising mugs using sharpies and have previously done someone similar as gifts to my Aunt and Uncle. All this requires is a steady hand and a bit of imagination. Great gifts for children which you could pair with some hot chocolate and sweets! Really, these are ideal for any occasion.

3. Fingerprint Christmas Cards

fingerprint-cards

Pin can be found here

For more fingerprint card ideas click here

Again, this is a craft that I’ve actually tried and it’s very easy to do (like all of these crafts if you haven’t already gathered!). If you like to make your own cards then there is nothing simpler than dipping your fingertips in paint and creating a masterpiece on paper. Fun to do with children, or if you’re arty like me, then this makes for a therapeutic evening activity.

4. Snowman Soup

hot-choc-cones

Pin is here

So this is actually my pin and the photo is one taken of the gifts given to my family a few years back. The gift is called Snowman soup and is essentially hot chocolate powder and marshmallows in a cone with a candy cane attached on the outside to stir it all in. The great thing about this is that its presentation is versatile. Meaning you can display it however you want- whether that’s in little jars or mugs or the plastic cones like I’ve used. You can choose to separate the hot chocolate powder from the marshmellows, or layer it like I have here. Attached to each cone is the Snowman soup poem which reads:

“Was told you’ve been real good this year,

Always glad to hear it!

With freezing weather drawing near,

You’ll need to warm the spirit…

So here’s a little Snowman soup

Complete with stirring stick.

Add hot water, sip it slow,

It’s sure to do the trick!”

5. Candle Jar

jar

Find the pin here

A step by step tutorial here

For my last Christmas Craft, I am channeling my candle and jar obsession and putting the two together to announce the Candle Jar! These are so beautiful once complete and with the candle alight inside. I absolutely love the black silhouette on this design and the snow effect on the glass. Perfect accessory to those cold but cosy evenings in the run up to Christmas. This is a craft that I haven’t tried before but have so many jars that I’ll definitely give it a go!

***

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this Christmassy post! If you have any crafts you’d like to share, please let me know in the comments below!

Until next time,

Love & hugs,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

