40 Acts Day 15 and 16: More / Adopt

Red-on-White

Hopefully this post will bring me up to speed… for a few days anyway!

I’ll dive straight into it!

Day 15 of 40: More

Thought of the day:

I know how to get along and live humbly [in difficult times], and I also know how to enjoy abundance and live in prosperity. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret [of facing life], whether well-fed or going hungry, whether having an abundance or being in need. I can do all things [which He has called me to do] through Him who strengthens and empowers me [to fulfil His purpose – I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency; I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.]

(Philippians 4:12–13 AMP)

green cirle

Green action: ‘If you’re at home today, or can’t find a way to do this act for someone else, simply spend a bit more time than usual in prayer. It’ll only ever be time and effort spent well!’

Having been out the night before to celebrate my birthday, I didn’t wake til about 11.30am. I went out for lunch with two friends to fight the munchies and to prepare our bodies for round 2 that evening. The rest of the day was spent at home chilling out and getting ready for the evenings activities. 

orange_circle

Amber action: ‘Find small ways to delight someone today. If someone asks for a cup of tea, give them biscuits too. If you are in a restaurant, leave an extra-generous tip or a glowing review online. Forget the cost and find your joy in the smile on someone else’s face.’

I wish I had properly read this action prior to going for lunch, as I would have been able to leave a tip! My generous action (by both myself and my boyfriend) is probably more suited for the next action.

red circle

Red action: ‘Go bonkers. Think of the most outlandish, extravagant act of generosity you could feasibly do today wherever you are, and then go for it. You might bake cookies not only for your neighbour but for everyone on your street. You might drive half an hour in the opposite direction to where you need to go, just to give someone a lift home. You might offer to make the coffee for your team – not just once but for the whole day. Whatever you choose, do it cheerfully.’

To celebrate my birthday, my boyfriend and I decided to go halves on a VIP booth for our friends at one of the nightclubs. On this particular evening there was a live performance from the artist Chipmunk, who now goes by the name of Chip and a surprise performance from Lethal Bizzle. We knew the venue would be rammed and so I was more than happy to pay for a booth so that my friends had somewhere to sit if needed and it gave us a private area to watch the performance and party. Had it had been a normal Friday night, where entry costs a small amount, we would have asked our friends to contribute towards the cost of the booth, especially as you get a bottle of drink included too. However, we were already expecting our friends to pay for their entry ticket, which was costly enough and so I  decided not to ask for money. It sounds like only a small act and it is, but I was more than happy to invest into my friends so that they could have an enjoyable experience as a way of saying thank you for celebrating with me.

bday unit

Day 16 of 40: Adopt

Thought of the day:

If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonour others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

(1 Corinthians 13: 3–7 NIV)

green cirle

Green action: ‘Count how many friends (not acquaintances, but actual friends) you have outside your age-group. It’s easy to live in a silo and expect that there’s nothing to learn from people who are older or younger than us. Be challenged today to make friends with someone from another generation’

Before I moved away to University, my closest friends were made up of two lovely ladies who are a year older than me and two who are about 9 years older than me. I’m still close to them and I’ll always treasure their friendship. I’ve never found age to be a problem and I’ve grown up sometimes finding it easier to make friends with older people. However, saying that… being at Uni now, I have an array of friends all different ages. My best friend is a couple of years younger than me and even my boyfriend is 18 months younger. Everyone has a different story to tell and age isn’t really an indication of maturity or wisdom (to an extent). 

orange_circle

Amber action: ‘Think about short-term ways you can offer to care for others. You might babysit for your neighbour or for a family at church; you might offer to look after or regularly visit an elderly person to give their loved ones some respite from carer duties’

Actions like this one are always harder to do, especially as I am living away from my family and in a more temporary place. My network of friends isn’t as diverse as it was when living in my hometown and my main circle of friends are currently students. I’m not sure what I can do for this action – any ideas are welcome!

red circle

Red action: .’Think longer-term. How might this act be challenging your heart today? Perhaps you’ve wanted to become a mentor for a while, but never got around to signing up. Maybe adoption or fostering is something you’ve felt called to for a while, but you’ve felt apprehensive about taking the first steps. Well, make those moves today. Let today become the catalyst for something that changes both your life and the lives you touch.’

Again, an action I am not sure about. There’s a position at Uni that I have just nominated myself for and if successfully voted in by the students, I will be able to work alongside a team of people to help improve students university experience. I can’t say too much about it at the moment but when I can, I’ll let you all know!

So that brings me up to date with 40 Acts. Tomorrow I will be back on schedule! See you then!

Love & Hugs,

Rachel

Leave a comment