My Hospital Box

In August 2011, I spent 5 weeks in hospital while the doctors worked hard to eventually diagnose me with Crohn’s Disease. This was my first time being admitted to hospital and I was sure it was only going to be a couple of days at the most. Little did I realise how ill I was and what I would have to go through in those 5 weeks.

I won’t talk about my stay in this post but I did want to share something that kept me occupied while I was there and something that I continue to do now when I go to hospital appointments.

For some reason, a way for me to pass the time was to make a diary of everything that happened during my stay (well, the days that I was well enough to write). This was things like: what time I’d eat breakfast; what time I would receive my medication; the time I had any scans or IVs; any visitors I had or any DVDs I watched. I even colour coded it! This was useful for two reasons. 1: It allowed me to monitor whether I was receiving my medication at the correct intervals and if I wasn’t, I could chase it up. The same with other procedures. I could keep an eye on what treatment I was getting. 2: I could use these diary entries as a reminder of what I went through and as something to look back on. It’s great to read through the names of those who came to visit me during that time. Below I have selected a few things that happened during my 5 week stay:

  • I had 85 people visit me in hospital over the 5 weeks I was there
  • I found out that my blood type is A Rh D Positive
  • I watched 84 DVDs on my little DVD player 
  • Had at least 25 blood tests. Minus all the tests that took several attempts to get blood. 
  • At least 13 different medications a day
  • Had at least 5 cannula changes
  • Had 8 blood transfusions that was the equivalent to 11 units (I think)
  • Ate 41 different meals off the hospital menu
  • My blood pressure was checked well over 150 times! (On one day, it was done 100 times in one sitting!)

IMG_4176

As well as the diaries, I started collecting mementos from my stay. These were gifts, or hospital related bits that were used/given to me as well as hospital wristbands and get well soon cards. Gradually, I’ve been able to add to my box with each hospital admission or visit. Every so often I get the box out and have a look through it. While it brings back memories of a really hard time in my life, it also gives me strength and determination to carry on and make the most of each day. Below I have shown you what currently is in my box. It’s pretty full now and there isn’t room for much more!

IMG_4173

Ta daaaa! My beautiful Hospital Box. Bought from Home Sense. 

IMG_4174

As you can see, it’s pretty full!…

IMG_4175

…And you can also see that I have a slight monkey obsession! Just a few of the gifts I was given.

IMG_4178

One of the days that my sister visited, she cheered me up by making a silly hat from a cardboard sick bowl!

IMG_4179

Just a few of the cards and notes I received. These inparticular gave me so much encouragement and strength to carry on. It’s so precious to know people are thinking and praying for you. Especially when you are ill.

IMG_4181

Some lovely pictures drawn for me. Colouring was my favourite thing to do while in hospital and I got through so many colouring books. Mainly Spongebob ones!

IMG_4182

My hospital room was decorated with lots of balloons and I had little gifts all over the drawers to try and make it feel homely. It was the first time that I had ever had my own room. 

IMG_4183

Some of the hospital bits I acquired! Only items that I used though. Some lovely TED stockings, an oxygen mask and lots of pill pots.

IMG_4184

An assortment of wristbands. The red ones indicate that I have allergies. 

IMG_4185

Hospital radio was a complete comfort during my time in hospital. Every evening, my grandparents would come and visit me with my mum until visiting hours closed and every evening me and my grandad would request a song to be played. Those evenings were so lovely and I treasure them a lot. I used to hate saying goodbye. I would always cry for a while after.

IMG_4186

Less glamourous souvenirs. Stool charts and steroid cards. Reporting my stool habits was always fun!

Hope you enjoyed my little hospital box tour! Let me know if you do anything similar!

Love & hugs,

Rachel 

Leave a comment