Review: Benefit Mini’s

For a while I’ve been eying up benefit products but have been unable to choose a single product to try. When I saw that Boots were doing a deal where you could buy any four mini benefit products for £15, I jumped on the opportunity. There were an assortment of products and I must have stood and analysed the options for a good 15 minutes before deciding on the following four:

  • Triple Performing Facial Emulsion
  • Boi-ing 02 / Eye Bright
  • High Beam
  • Benetint

15

I love the idea of having mini beauty products and it kind of adopts the ‘try before you buy’ idea. From the four products I bought, I would definitely consider buying the full sized versions. See my reviews below!

B.Right! Triple Performing Facial Emulsion Moisturiser:

“You may not know you’re dehydrated, but your skin does.”

TRIPLE PERFORMING FACIAL EMULSION. SPF 15 PA++ hydrates, protects & comforts the skin with an oil-free, lightweight formula. Contains exclusive ultra-moisturizing tri-radiance complex for a radiant, refreshed and healthy looking complexion”.

This moisturiser is packaged in a really sweet little bottle (8.9ml) which is transparent enough so you can monitor how much you use. It smells amazing and has a really summery scent. To apply, you can put your finger over the opening and tip the bottle to pour the moisturiser onto your finger or dab the bottle onto the back of your hand. I found that you don’t need a lot of product as a little goes a long way and it soaks into your face really well. It wasn’t sticky and once I’d left it to dry, it was a perfect base to my foundation.

This moisturiser currently sells for £23.50 from Boots: http://www.boots.com/en/Benefit-Facial-Emulsion-SPF-15_1190684/

Boi-ing 02 Concealer / Eye Bright (2 in 1):

This is probably my favourite product out of the four. Even as a miniature it is so compact, I can slip it into my clutch bag on a night out and will provide the perfect touch up throughout the night. It also has a really handy mirror for on the go. This is sold as a 2 in 1, however they sell individually if you want the full product. I didn’t get a choice of shades with the concealer, however the full sized product gives you at least 5 shade options.

Boi-ing 02 Concealer:

“Seamless cover-ups, seriously!”

“This award-winning concealer camouflages dark circles, minor imperfections and discoloration without creasing. Now all gals can be imperfection-free.”

For me, this concealer was a perfect match and it’s great to use throughout the day on areas such as my nose where my makeup tends to rub off the quickest. I also incorporate it into my morning makeup routine for extra coverage on areas that is prone to redness or to camouflage spots. The texture of the concealer is very creamy which means it’s easy to apply on the skin and blend with any other makeup on the face. It’s lightweight and doesn’t harden or flake. This concealer is a welcome addition to my makeup bag and I definitely want to invest in the full product.

Boots sell the product for £17.50 online: http://www.boots.com/en/Benefit-Boi-ing-concealer_857092/#vMCj68ZhBF061IKH.99

Eye Bright:

“A nap in a stick!”

“This pink perk-me-up brightens your eyes and your spirits in a single stroke. Maybe you didn’t wake up with the bright-eyes of your dreams, but it’s not to late to fake that eight-hour fairy tale!”

So after a bit of online hunting, I think I’ve established that Eye Bright is available as an individual product but in pencil form. This is a bit disappointing as I love that the mini version allows you to easily apply using your fingertips and like the concealer, it’s creamy in texture. However, as much as I like this product, it wouldn’t be one that I would buy again on its own. I think it compliments the Boi-ing concealer well by highlighting under and in the inner and outer corners of my eyes but it’s not a product that I would regularly use as I have other products that I think do a slightly better job. Saying that, as I have it, I know I will use it. I’m not disappointed with Eye Bright and the 2 in 1 item but I do wish the whole pot contained Boi-ing concealer rather than the two different products.

Eye Bright is sold as a pencil online at Boots for £15.50: http://www.boots.com/en/Benefit-Eyebright_2503/

High Beam Highlighter:

“Supermodel in a bottle!”

“Our satiny pink liquid highlighter accents cheek & brow bones for a dewy glow. Use as a spot highlighter over makeup or wear under complexion products for subtle luminescence.

I love this product and it’s definitely one of the best highlighters I’ve owned. The small bottle is perfect in size (4.0ml) and in my opinion, the application brush makes it 100% easier to use in comparison to a tiny nozzle where you have to squeeze the product out. The highlighter has a ‘satiny pink complexion’ and I think it looks so gorgeous on the skin. It has a warm glow and is perfect paired with a pink blush. My previous highlighter kind of burned after application (not sure why, but it obviously didn’t agree with my skin) and I could feel it on my face, but this was so smooth to apply and I couldn’t tell I was wearing it. Again, it is a product that I would consider investing in and I know it would last a while as the full product is 15ml.

Available from Boots for £19.50: http://www.boots.com/en/Benefit-High-Beam-highlighter_2519/ 

Benetint Lip and Cheek Colour:

“The UK’s no.1 best selling other colour item for the last 3 years (NPD data, 2015).”

“Our original rose-tinted stain is kiss-proof, see-through color for lips & cheeks that lasts for hours. Originally created for an exotic dancer in the 1970s, benetint has soared to cult fave status. It’s loved by celebs, makeup artists and gals around the world.”

Admittedly this is a product that I’ve only tried once or twice and it deserves more than that, so I will be moving it to my main make up bag so I can incorporate it into my morning routine. I can’t remember too much about the product but one thing I can tell you is that it is such a lovely rose colour. The little pot (4.0ml) has the same applicator as High Beam which is really useful but the consistency of the product is a lot more watery. It looks like food colouring but the fact it is liquid means that it is easy to apply and blends well leaving a rose-tinted stain. The packaging suggests that it can be used on the lips as well as cheeks and I have yet to try this, however, I can imagine it being a lovely subtle colour. The liquid smells pleasantly perfumed and this is one thing I love about benefit products- they never smell bad! If I get on with this product in the coming weeks, it is definitely one I’d consider purchasing the full version of.

It is slightly more pricey at £24.50: http://www.boots.com/en/Benefit-Benetint-lip-and-cheek-colour_2526/

 

Hope you’ve enjoyed my Benefit Mini’s review! If you’ve enjoyed this post and want to see more reviews, give it a LIKE! If you recommend any Benefit or Benefit mini products, why not let me know in the comments!

Love & hugs,

Rachel

Leave a comment