I really want to blog!

Sometimes life just gets in the way right? I’m sorry it’s been forever since I last blogged but I’ve been swamped with all sorts and exciting sorts at that! So here’s a quick update on what you’ve missed:

  • The BBC Sport #MakeYourMove campaign is now over and I received a lovely medal from the BBC team for being an ambassador for the Couch to 5K challenge. It was tough but I worked on my self-motivation and I feel more determined than ever now as I continue with running for the London Marathon next year!

bbc sport

  • In work news, I have been on my second NUS conference ‘Lead and Change’ for Sabbatical Officers which was held at Keele University in Stoke-on-trent. This was a brilliant few days where myself and Johnathan networked with other Student Union’s and looked at various topics which will impact us in the coming year. I was also chosen to be the ‘Inspirational Speaker’ to close the President’s track of the conference which was extremely nerve wrecking but thankfully I had an amazing tutor who basically wrote the whole speech for me and I filled in all the blanks. The speech was received well and I managed to get a friend to film it. As soon as I’ve uploaded it to youtube, I’ll post the link!

Lead-and-change_300x300

  • Even bigger news than this, is that the University formally known as University Campus Suffolk is officially independent (as of the 1st August) and is now the University of Suffolk! Woooo! This is such an exciting chapter for the University and I feel so privileged to be apart of it. The launch also included some fun opportunities to speak to the media about it! I was interviewed on BBC Suffolk (radio), BBC Look East and ITV East Anglia! As a result of this, the Students’ Union has also re-branded to the University of Suffolk Students’ Union, however it is only a temporary brand until we consult the students that come back in September!
  • In other media news, my hair loss story has been featured in ‘Pick Me Up!’ magazine which was published on Thursday 11th August and should still be in shops now! Only 68p and I’m on pages 18-19. I’m very proud! Happy days!

pick me up

  • My last bit of news for you is that I have recently landed myself with an opportunity to review products for a luxury lifestyle magazine. The articles will be published on their website, so when they’re up, I’ll link them for you all to read! I also have been beauty hauling for myself recently and therefore have a number of products to review! So watch this space!

I feel like I have soooo much going on right now so I’m sorry this has been short and sweet. However, I’m going to spend the rest of the day planning out posts so hopefully you won’t be kept waiting more than a week like before!

Until next time,

Love & hugs,

Rachel

 

Leave a comment