5

mhfa-logo

A couple of weeks ago I took part in a Mental Health First Aid training course which was delivered by a member of staff at the University. It was the University’s second training course that has been run so far and there’s definitely a demand for it among students and staff. The course, developed by Mental Health First Aid England, took place over 2 Fridays. The end goal was to be a qualified Mental Health First Aider.

mhfa3

The course was so eye opening and emphasised the need for an increase in Mental Health awareness and provisions- especially within the Education sector. The course unwrapped a number of different mental health conditions including: Depression; Anxiety; Suicide; Psychosis; and Self Harm. It is important to note that the role of a Mental Health First Aider is not to diagnose somebody but to instead (ALGEE) Approach, assess and assist with any crisis; Listen non-judgementally; Give information and support; Encourage appropriate professional support; and Encourage other supports.

Throughout the course, it challenged me to consider my own mental health and obstacles I might face or struggle with on a daily basis. Mental Health should not be something that is frowned upon, brushed aside or avoided. The fact is, everyone has mental health (MH), just some people have good MH and others may not be as good. The MH of an individual can change too and that’s where it becomes important to look after yourself and your own wellbeing.

About 5 years ago, before I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease, I was diagnosed with anxiety and OCD. I was in year 13, had been previously been suffering with depression and self-harm and I was at a point in my life where I felt lost. I had been through counselling in school and sixth form and it felt like I was stuck in a well with no easy way of climbing out. The diagnosis of OCD stemmed from the intrusive thoughts I would experience on a daily basis, telling me things I didn’t want to hear or believe but they were obsessive and clouded my mind. Anxiety would grip me over the smallest and silliest things but the obsessiveness of the thoughts isolated me. It was a period in my life where my Mental Health was pretty bad.

5 years on and my Mental Health fluctuates but it is a lot better now. I still live with anxiety daily and a lot of it now revolves around my Crohn’s Disease. I get anxious about eating as I don’t know how the food will react with my stomach, I get anxious about going to meetings on my own or to talk in front of a crowd in case I suddenly need the toilet, to drive somewhere I haven’t driven before or in the dark amongst many other things. When I say anxious, I don’t just mean nervous, I mean I feel sick, my Crohn’s can flare causing frequent toilet trips, I become quite secluded and/or moody and on occasions it has stopped me from attending work or University. I will do anything in my power to avoid the situation or often moan about it until it is over. It’s strange for me as I love doing new things, but I think this all stems from a need to be in control. I get anxious about situations I cannot control and that a huge thing for me. I think my friends would agree that I am a bit of a control freak! It is definitely something that I am working on. I want to be more chilled and relaxed and I do think I am making positive progress.

mhfa

I guess the lessons I have taken away from the MHFA training as well as what I have learnt about my own MH over the last few years mainly focuses on the element of self-care and recognising my own limit and when I need a break. That could look like a 10-minute walk in the fresh air during my lunch break or popping on my favourite song to sing along to. Other times it could look like taking a day off work to stay in bed and catch up on sleep or a trip home to see my parents. Self-care completely varies person to person and you’ll be able to find what works best for you.

If you’re going to take anything away from this post, let it be:

  • Everyone has Mental Health- just some people manage it well and others need support
  • Self-care is really important
  • It is OK to talk about Mental Health and you should never feel embarrassed to do so

 

By the way, I completed the training and I am now a Mental Health First Aider!

mhfa2

If you have any self-care tips, I’d love to know. Leave your comments below!

Love & hugs,

Rachel

One response to “”

  1. Congratulations on completing your course. This is beautifully written. I too have OCD and struggle with intrusive thoughts and it’s so good to see someone else be so open about it. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment